Sherlock Holmes (1984)

Sherlock Holmes is the name given to the TV series of Sherlock Holmes adaptations produced by British television company Granada Television between 1984 and 1994, with the first two seasons bearing the title The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes on screen and being followed by subsequent sub-series bearing the titles of the other short story collections by Arthur Conan Doyle. The series was broadcast on the ITV network in the UK, and starred Jeremy Brett as the famous detective. His portrayal remains very popular, and is often accepted as the definitive on-screen version of Sherlock Holmes. In addition, Holmes's faithful friend and companion Dr. Watson is scrupulously portrayed as the kind of thoroughly competent sidekick Holmes would want. Initially, Watson was portrayed by David Burke who had earlier played the villain in an adaptation of "The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet" for the 1965 BBC series starring Douglas Wilmer and Nigel Stock. Burke appeared in the first Adventures series before electing to leave after receiving an invitation to join the Royal Shakespeare Company. He was replaced by Edward Hardwicke, who played Watson for the remainder of the run. Of the 60 Holmes stories written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 42 were adapted in the series spanning 36 one-hour episodes and five feature-length specials.

  • Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Michael Cox

Release Date: 1984-04-24
Seasons: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
themoviedb icon 8.4/10
  • Country: GB
  • Language: En
  • Runtime: 60